You can delete a claim or contact by clicking on the red trash icon in the top right corner, when viewing a claim or contact.

Claim Delete Button

Contact Delete Button

If the claim or contact has nested records such as notes or documents, these will be deleted along with the parent record. If any such records exist, the delete popup will show a prompt, so you can review them before deletion.

Note: Deletion is permanent and can not be undone, even by Claimable support.

To protect against accidental deletion, you'll be prompted to confirm the record ID, before deleting the record.

Note: Deletion is permanent and can not be undone, even by Claimable support.

Why is the Delete Button Disabled?

To help keep your Claimable account in good shape, sometimes records can't be deleted, to protect against inconsistencies.

Claims

A claim must be closed before it can be deleted. If the delete button is disabled, close the claim first, which will then enable the delete button.

Contacts

A contact must not be linked to any claims, before it can be deleted. If the delete button is disabled, remove the contact from all its claims shown on the Claims History tab, which will enable the delete button.

Who Can Delete Claims?

Administrators can always delete claims but - because deleting claims is a potentially destructive action - other users can have permission granted or revoked, on a per-user basis.

Administrators can control this permission via the "Can Delete Claims?" checkbox on the Users tab.

Users with the role "Manager" have the "Can Delete Claims?" permission enabled by default, whereas users with the role "Claim Handler" have it turned off by default.

Only internal users can be granted permission to delete claims. External users, regardless of role, can not delete claims.

Who Can Delete Contacts?

Users with the role "Admin" or "Manager" can delete contacts provided the contact is not linked to any claims. If a contact is linked to any claims, it must first be disconnected from those claims, or the claims must be deleted, before the contact itself can be deleted.

Logging

When a user deletes a claim or contact, an activity record is logged to provide a paper trail. This information is available from Claimable support, on request.

Did this answer your question?